Miriam Rossi Award for Health Equity in Undergraduate Medical Education


The Miriam Rossi Award for Health Equity in Undergraduate Medical Education aims to recognize University of Toronto MD Program faculty members for their commitment to diversity and health equity in undergraduate medical education. The award is named after Dr. Miriam Rossi, a pediatrician, teaching faculty, and former associate dean of student affairs in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto, and a strong advocate and mentor for minorities. It was established in 2017 in recognition of Dr. Rossi’s outstanding contributions to health equity in medical education. Dr. Rossi led several initiatives to improve diversity in the U of T medical school, in particular the creation of the Summer Mentorship Program (SMP), established to encourage young Black and Aboriginal students, who are under-represented in medicine, to pursue careers in the health sciences. Like many of her contributions, the SMP was developed to help improve equity in the field of medicine, healthcare and society as a whole.


The award recipient will receive $250, a certificate of recognition, and be asked to participate in a workshop or other MD Program event. Recipients will be notified directly and will be recognized at the Faculty of Medicine’s 17th annual Education Achievement Celebration taking place on May 15, 2019


Any faculty member who has taught and/or held a leadership position in the University of Toronto MD Program is eligible for nomination.

Selection Criteria

Nominees should demonstrate outstanding effort in improving the equity environment in the MD Program at the University of Toronto through significant contributions to some of the following:

  • Outreach, partnership, mentorship, recruitment and/or admission activities that contribute to the diversification of the undergraduate medical education student body, particularly with respect to improving the representation of groups that are under-represented in medical school (e.g. Aboriginal, Black, lower income, LGBTQ, etc.)
  • Teaching and/or curriculum initiatives that contribute to undergraduate medical education student learning regarding the application of health equity principles in the management of the health of individuals and populations
  • Teaching, curriculum and/or extra-curricular initiatives that contribute to undergraduate medical education student learning regarding health advocacy, particularly with respect to factors that improve health equity (e.g. principles of diversity, anti-oppression, inclusiveness, cultural competence, cultural safety, social justice in health, etc.)
  • Research initiatives that contribute to health equity knowledge mobilization related to undergraduate medical education
  • Faculty development initiatives that foster and enable health equity teaching by MD Program faculty

While the award may recognize work related to any of the criteria listed above, preference will be given to nominees whose achievements span or integrate multiple criteria. Priority will also be given to achievements that have had a demonstrable impact within the University MD Program in particular and undergraduate medical education in general. Please note that teaching performance in Arts and Science, graduate, and post-graduate medical programs will not be considered for this award.

Nomination Process

The nominator can be any University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine faculty, student, alumni or administrative staff.

The nomination package must include the following:

  1. Completed nomination form
  2. Detailed letter of nomination from the primary nominator(s) outlining the reasons for nomination, with explicit reference to the award criteria
  3. Two (2) letters of support from University of Toronto MD Program faculty, students, alumni or staff including at least one of the letters of support should be from a student or recent alumni, unless the primary nomination was from a student or recent alumni
  4. Curriculum vitae of the nominee

Selection Process

Review and selection will be undertaken by the MD Program Teaching Awards Committee.

Download the nomination form here

The deadline for receipt of nominations is Monday, January 21, 2019


If you have any questions, contact Barbra MacDonald, Administrative Coordinator, Office of the Vice Dean, MD Program at md.reception@utoronto.ca or 416.946.5371.

Award Winners

Mark Hanson, Department of Psychiatry


Back to Top