For up to date news about our MD/PhD Community, check out our twitter feed: Tweets by uoftmdphd

September 2022

Kramay Patel is is the 2022 recipient of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award for Medical Students.

First year MD/PhD student Allysia Chinis features in profiles of Class of 2T6. Welcome to Allysia and all our newest MD/PhD students.

Dr. Meredith Irwin was the keynote speaker in our first in-person MD/PhD retreat since 2019.

August 2022

Congratulations to Matthaeus Ware,recipient of the Temerty Award for Excellence in Professional Values.

Recent grad, Ben Ouyangand current MD/PhD Mitch de Snoo, The Rock's 2022 Defensive Player of the Year, are featured in Faces of Temerty Medicine.

June 2022

2022 MD/PhD Graduates
Tina Binesh Marvasti – U of T Internal Medicine
Alainna Jamal – U of T Internal Medicine
Nicholas Light – U of T Internal Medicine
Ben Ouyang – Harvard Internal Medicine Physician Scientist Track
Ayesh Seneviratre – Western Internal Medicine
Ho Yee Wan – U of T Plastic Surgery
Siraj Zahr – U of T Anesthesiology

Read the shared wisdom from some of our amazing new graduates: Alainna, Tina, Ben and Siraj.

2022 Mid-Point Students (*McLaughlin Scholars, previous and current)
It is important to celebrate all parts of the clinician scientist career path. These students will be recognized at the MD convocation for reaching the mid-point of their training, alongside their peers who started the MD Program with them.
Sara Ahmed
Steven Botts
Alex Florescu
Erik Friesen
Lia Huo
Sujay Nagaraj

May 2022

Delighted to announce Dr. Sunit Dal as the 2022 Norman Rosenblum Award for Excellence in Mentorship in the MD/PhD Program winner. Thank you for your support of our future clinician scientists! 

Proud of Dr. Tina Binesh Marvasti, our inaugural winner of the the newly launched Mohammad and Zeynab Asadi-Lari Award. The award recognizes a MD/PhD student who has demonstrated excellence in innovation and brought about positive change. This award is named in memory of Mohammad Asadi-Lari and his sister Zeynab Asadi-Lari. Mohammad and Zeynab were both highly accomplished young students who were passionate about science. Mohammad focused on empowering youth to be changemakers and innovators. He believed you could achieve global effects by acting locally. This award reminds us that even if we start small, we can all play a role in building a better world.

Vinyas Harishwas recently named a UTAA Graduate Scholar by the University of Toronto Alumni Association, as part of the 2022 Awards of Excellence. Congratulations, Vin! Previous MD/PhD winners include Kramay Patel and Sagar Dugani.

2022 MD/PhD Retreat
2022 MD/PhD Retreat

We held an in-person MD/PhD retreat September 2022.