Excellence in Resource Stewardship Teaching Award in the MD Program


The Excellence in Resource Stewardship Teaching Award was established in 2021. The award recognizes faculty members and postgraduate trainees (residents and fellows) who effectively mentor learners in concepts of resource stewardship and demonstrate exemplary resource stewardship in their own clinical practices.


Award recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and a commemorative resource stewardship pin and will be invited to the Temerty Faculty of Medicine’s Annual Education Achievement Celebration. Award recipients may also be invited to lead an extra-curricular workshop on a resource stewardship topic of their choosing to members of the University of Toronto’s Choosing Wisely/Resource Stewardship interest group. Recipients will be notified directly. 


Any Temerty Faculty of Medicine faculty member, resident or fellow is eligible for nomination.

Selection Criteria

Nominees should provide exemplary teaching of resource stewardship concepts and demonstrate stewardly habits in their own clinical practices. The following criteria will be considered in reviewing each nominee. The examples listed for the various criteria are not exhaustive, and there are many ways for each criterion to be met.

  • Engages learners in discussions of resource stewardship (e.g., review of Choosing Wisely Canada or similar guidelines, consideration of pre-test probability when ordering tests, or other topics related to resource stewardship)
  • Provides mentorship on incorporating resource stewardship into real-world clinical practice (e.g., advice on communication skills and shared decision making, tips on including resource stewardship considerations into workflow)
  • Exemplifies resource stewardship in their medical practice

Nomination Process

For postgraduate student nominees, the nominator can be any student in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine’s MD Program.
For nominees who are members of faculty, the nominator can be any student in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine’s undergraduate or postgraduate medical education programs.

The nomination package must include the following:

  1. Completed nomination form
  2. Detailed letter(s) of nomination from the nominator(s) outlining the reasons for nomination, with explicit reference to the award criteria. Nominees are encouraged to have the support of two or more learners.

Selection Process

Review and selection will be undertaken by the MD Program Teaching Awards Committee, and will include at least two medical students (namely, the Choosing Wisely STARS representatives or interest group members), one physician leader in the Choosing Wisely community, and one representative from the Choosing Wisely Canada campaign. 

There are up to four awards available each year: maximum two for postgraduate students, and maximum two for faculty members.

Download the nomination form here

Nomination form Excellence in Resource Stewardship Teaching Award 2024.pdf


EXTENDED to Friday, February 2, 2024

If you have any questions, contact Barbra MacDonald, Administrative Coordinator, Office of the Associate Dean, MD Program at md.reception@utoronto.ca.

Award Winners

Geetha Mukerji, Department of Medicine
Jerome Leis, Department of Medicine

Dalia Karol, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Ahmed Kayssi, Department of Surgery 
Elliot Lass, Department of Family and Community Medicine
Brian Wong, Department of Medicine

Alejandro Floh, Department of Paediatrics
Edsel Ing, Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences 
William Silverstein, Department of Medicine
Adina Weinerman, Department of Medicine